Press To Play

Press To Play album artwork
Press To Play album artwork
PAUL McCARTNEY - Press To PlayPAUL McCARTNEY - Press To PlayPAUL McCARTNEY - Press To PlayPAUL McCARTNEY - Press To PlayPAUL McCARTNEY - Press To Play
PAUL McCARTNEY - Press To Play
Release date - 1 September 1986


  1. Stranglehold
  2. Good Times Coming / Feel The Sun
  3. Talk More Talk
  4. Footprints
  5. Only Love Remains
  6. Press
  7. Pretty Little Head
  8. Move Over Busker
  9. Angry
  10. However Absurd

Album Notes

Released in 1986 and featuring collaborations with 10cc's Eric Stewart, Pete Townshend and Phil Collins, Press To Play is an album that is both of its time and timeless. Produced with Hugh Padgham, known for his work with The Police and Genesis, its first single ‘Press’ is a feather-light, drum-machine driven slice of pure '80s pop joy, while ‘Move Over Busker’ mixes in more guitar-driven elements for a brisk burst of energy. As Paul himself put it at the time, “Some of the tracks are completely live – with real people! But the bass on ‘Press’ for example, that’s a machine playing it.” The album cover was taken by famed Hollywood photographer, George Hurrell, who took the sepia image of Paul and Linda using the same box camera he had used 40 years earlier.

Paul McCartney, Jerry Marotta, Carlos Alomar, Eric Stewart, Eddie Rayner, Phil Collins, Pete Townshend, Nick Glennie-Smith, Dick Morrisey, Ray Cooper, Simon Chamberlain, Graham Ward, Lennie Pickett, Gary Barnacle, Gavin Wright, John Bradbury.
Harmonies: Linda McCartney, Eric Stewart, Kate Robbins, Ruby James.
Spoken Word on Track 3: Linda and James McCartney, Eddie Klein, John Hammel, Matt Howe, Steve Jackson.
Violin solo on Track 15: Nigel KennedyAll tracks published by MPL Communications Ltd

Photo of Paul and Linda by George Hurrell, used on the 'Press To Play' album cover
Paul and Linda at the 'Press To Play' album shoot