Selections From Liverpool Oratorio

CARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool OratorioCARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool OratorioCARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool OratorioCARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool OratorioCARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool Oratorio
CARL DAVIS & PAUL McCARTNEY - Selections From Liverpool Oratorio
Release date - 1 October 1992


  1. Movement I - War Andante (Orchestra)
  2. Movement I - War 'Non Nobis Solum'
  3. Movement I - War 'The Air Raid Siren Slices Through' (Shanty)
  4. Movement I - War 'Oh Will It All End Here ' (Shanty)
  5. Movement I - War 'Mother And Father Holding Their Child'
  6. Movement II - School 'We're Here In School Today To Get A Perfect Education'
  7. Movement II - School 'Walk In Single File Out Of The Classroom' (Headmaster)
  8. Movement II - School 'Settle Down'
  9. Movement II - School 'Kept In Confusion' (Shanty)
  10. Movement II - School 'I'll Always Be Here' (Mary Dee)
  11. Movement II - School 'Boys, This Is Your Teacher' (Headmaster, Miss Inkley)
  12. Movement II - School 'Tres Conejos' (Miss Inkley, Headmaster, Shanty)
  13. Movement II - School 'Not For Ourselves' (Headmaster, Miss Inkley, Shanty)
  14. Movement III - Crypt 'And So It Was That I Had Grown' (Shanty)
  15. Movement III - Crypt Dance (Orchestra)
  16. Movement III - Crypt 'I Used To Come Here When This Place Was A Crypt' (Shanty, Preacher)
  17. Movement III - Crypt 'Here Now' (Shanty)
  18. Movement III - Crypt 'I'll Always Be Here' (Mary Dee, Shanty)
  19. Movement III - Crypt 'Now's The Time To Tell Him' (Mary Dee, Shanty)
  20. Movement IV - Father Andante Lamentoso (Orchestra)
  21. Movement IV - Father 'o Father, You Have Given Time To Your Children...' (Chief Mourner)
  22. Movement IV - Father '(Ah)'
  23. Movement IV - Father 'Hey, Wait A Minute' (Shanty)
  24. Movement V - Wedding: Movement V - Wedding Andante Amoroso - ' I know I Should Be Glad Of This'
  25. Movement V - Wedding 'Father, Hear Our Humble Voices' (Preacher)
  26. Movement V - Wedding 'Hosanna, Hosanna' (Mary Dee, Shanty)
  27. Movement VI - Work Allegro Energico
  28. Movement VI - Work: Movement VI - Work 'Working Women At The Top' (Mary Dee)
  29. Movement VI - Work 'Did I Sign The Letter...' (Mary Dee)
  30. Movement VI - Work Tempo I
  31. Movement VI - Work 'When You Ask A Working Man' (Shanty, Mr Dingle)
  32. Movement VI - Work 'Let's Find Ourselves A Little Hostelry' (Mr. Dingle)
  33. Movement VII - Crises 'The World You're Coming Into' (Mary Dee)
  34. Movement VII - Crises 'Do You Know Who You Are...' (Nurse)
  35. Movement VII - Crises 'Ghosts Of The Past Left Behind' (Nurse, Shanty, Mary Dee)
  36. Movement VII - Crises 'Do We Live In A World...' (Mary Dee, Nurse, Shanty)
  37. Movement VIII - Peace 'And So It Was That You Were Born' (Shanty)
  38. Movement VIII - Peace 'God Is Good'
  39. Movement VIII - Peace 'What People Want Is A Family Life' (Preacher)
  40. Movement VIII - Peace 'Dad's In The Garden' (Nurse, Mary Dee, Preacher, Shanty)
  41. Movement VIII - Peace: Movement VIII - Peace 'So On And On The Story Goes' (Shanty, Mary Dee)

Album Notes

An abridged version of Paul’s 1991 double-CD release, Selections was released as a single disc just under a year after the original album. Liverpool Oratorio itself was Paul’s first album full-scale departure into classical music. On the night of its live recording, Paul explained: “I remember coming here to Liverpool Anglican Cathedral when I was 11 to audition for the choir. I failed the audition. I always hoped that one day I would be able to get my own back.  Three years ago I was given the opportunity when Carl Davis approached me on behalf of the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society to write a piece for their 150th Anniversary Celebrations. Carl and I started working then on what was to become the Oratorio for Liverpool. Finally, after hundreds of hours of scoring and re-scoring we finished it.”   

Performed by:

Dame Kiri Te Kanawa: Soprano (Mary Dee)
Sally Burgess: Mezzo-sopraono (Miss Inkley / Chief Mourner / Nurse)
Jerry Hadley: Tenor (Shanty)
Willard White: Bass (Headmaster / Preacher / Mr Dingle)
Jeremy Budd: Boy Soloist
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Choir & Choristers of Liverpool Cathedral
Chorus Master & Master of the Choristers: Ian Tracey
Royal Philharmonic Orchestra
Leader: Malcolm Stewart
Conducted by Carl Davis
Malcolm Stewart: Solo Violin
Ian Balmain: Solo Trumpet
Timothy Walden: Solo Cello
Anna Cooper: Cor Anglais
All tracks composed by Paul McCartney
Executive Producer: Paul McCartney
Producer: John Fraser
Balance engineer: John Timperley
Additional Engeineers: Eddie Klein, Peter Mew, Martin Astle, Tom Leader
Editor: Peter Mew & Tom Leader
Assistant to Carl Davis: Nic Raine
Recorded live at Liverpool Cathedral, 18th & 29th June 1991
All tracks published by MPL Communications Ltd