'Holidays Rule' / 'Christmas Rules' - Out Now

30 October 2012


'Christmas Rules' - the UK title for 'Holidays Rule' - is out now. Fans can get their copies from:

Amazon - Click HERE!
iTunes - Click HERE!

Fans in the US can pick up their copies from:

Amazon - Click HERE!
iTunes - Click HERE!

Watch a behind-the-scenes film of Paul recording 'The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)' with Diana Krall and producer Tommy LiPuma below:


'Holidays Rule' is now available to buy in North America. Fans can pick up their copy from:

Amazon - Click HERE!
iTunes - Click HERE!

The album will be released in the UK on 26th November.


Fans can now stream Paul's track ‘The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)’ at Rolling Stone magazine's website HERE!


Paul is confirmed to feature on ‘Holidays Rule’, a new Christmas compilation released on 30th October. Paul’s contribution - ‘The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)’ - conjures up the warmth of the fireside and is one of 17 new recordings set to be released through Hear Music / Concord Music Group. Others confirmed for the release include The Shins, Rufus Wainwright, Eleanor Friedberger and Holly Golightly.

‘Holidays Rule’ delves into an unusually rich assemblage of Americana, alt-pop, folk, electronica, country, American standards, singer-songwriter, New Orleans gospel, garage rock and more. Producers Sara Matarazzo, Chris Funk and executive producer Randall Poster of bi-coastal music-supervision company Search Party – along with executive producer Nancy Jeffries of MPL – strove to give the project the feel of a cohesive album, rather than a holiday hodgepodge.

"We've had great success working with Nancy and the MPL team on a number of projects," explained Poster. "We thought it would be a lot of fun to record some holiday songs together!"

“I love holiday music,” Matarazzo volunteers. “But every year I find myself going back to the standards. I wondered, where’s the holiday record for this generation? This was a chance to create something that gave today’s artists a chance to put their mark on the tradition.”

‘Holidays Rule’ full tracklisting:

1. fun. - ‘Sleigh Ride’
2. The Shins – ‘Wonderful Christmastime’
3. Rufus Wainwright feat. Sharon Van Etten - ‘Baby, It's Cold Outside’
4. Paul McCartney – ‘The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)’
5. Black Prairie feat. Sallie Ford – '(Everybody's Waitin' For) The Man With the Bag’
6. The Civil Wars - ‘I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day’
7. Calexico - ‘Green Grows The Holly’
8. Ages and Ages – ‘We Need A Little Christmas’
9. Holly Golightly - ‘That's What I Want for Christmas’
10. Irma Thomas with Preservation Hall Jazz Band –‘May Ev'ryday Be Christmas’
11. Heartless Bastards - ‘Blue Christmas’
12. Eleanor Friedberger - ‘Santa, Bring My Baby Back (To Me)’
13. Fruit Bats - ‘It's Beginning To Look A Lot Like Christmas’
14. Y La Bamba – ‘Señor Santa (Mister Santa)’
15. Punch Brothers - ‘O Come, O Come, Emmanuel’
16. The Head and The Heart - ‘What Are You Doing New Year's Eve?’
17. Andrew Bird - ‘Auld Lang Syne’

Fans can listen to 30” clips of the album at the release’s official website HERE!